ONE LOVE ONE WORLD… HOW DO WE REALLY RELATE WITH OUR BROTHERS AND SISTERS WITH DEVIANT SEXUAL TILTS OR ABERRATIONS?

Our Featured Presentation: The Problem with Gay…. the finale {QP5}

Posted on June 15, 2014


 

The face of hate would look like anger
but with eyes the color of pain
and the skin complexion of bondage – Tracy Williamson

problem with gay

Sometime between 4 B.C. – 29 A.D. the Pharisees had devised a full proof plan to discredit Jesus Christ. He brought a woman before him, accused of adultery. A crowd had gathered, Jesus may have paused, the woman, no doubt trembled for the punishment of adultery was stoning until dead.  It may have been at that moment the Pharisees hatred for Jesus swelled.  Not judging the woman for her alleged offense, would be an affront to Mosaic Law, and expose him as a fraud. But in perhaps, one of His most defining moments during his walk amongst the people, Jesus Christ calmly looked into the crowd and with no further hesitation said, “He that is without sin among you, let him cast the first stone.”


The Neighborhood Proudly Presents Our Featured Presentation….

The Problem with Gay…. the finale
written, edited & developed by Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger
the Quest for Peace entry five {QP5}

gay couple shadow

Harrison’s parents sat next to their son in the same pews they have sat in every Sunday since their only child was born. Neither was their usual self  since Harrison came out to them. If the situation had been different, both are sure, they would have thrown their only son onto the street, for defying God’s Law. But in their reality, Harrison was broken. Through uncontrolled sobs, he told them what happened to Farid, continuing until it was clear, that their son was gay and in love with another man. “Just as the Lord set fire to Sodom and Gomorrah because they did things against his nature, we should cast out even our own child if they are homosexual.” The minister continued his usual sermon, but this time it fell on deaf ears. Harrison’s parents looked at their son, and for the first time in his life, they felt the pain that he must have always endured. They were believers in the Bible and have never questioned their ministers word. They too, thought being gay was wrong, but what were they suppose to do with the love of their son? As the minister continued with his sermon, and as tears began to fall from Harrison’s eyes, and the “Amens.” begin to rise from the congregation, for the first time in their lives, the sermon sounded like hate.

Farid ran as fast as he could. Through the minefields exploding behind him. Passed the armed guards and the spiritual leaders, all calling for his head. He ran faster and faster still, trying his best to not only outrun them, but he thought if he ran fast enough, he could also outrun gay. He was out of breath and his legs were giving out, but he knew his only chance was to run. He was awakened by his father’s voice, and all he could wish for, was that all of this was a dream. He sat up on the cold  floor of the cell, tired and hungry, and soar from the beating he endured. His father never sat down, nor would he look into his only sons’ eyes. Not because he hated him, but because he did not want his son to see him cry. “The Chief Spiritual Leader has handed down a sentence of death. But we have asked and he has granted mercy and all you have to do is swear before Allah that you are not a gay and beg him for forgiveness for even thinking that way. If you do this, and Allah forgives, your life will be spared, but the choice is up to you.”  Farid looked up at his father, stunning him with his words, “Allah knows who I am, he made me, and he already accepts me as I am. But if I do what is being asked and swear before him, then he shall be angry with me, for then he will know me as a liar.”

gay17

 

Oh, if I only knew the meaning of life I would tell you. I would climb to the highest peak, so that the whole entire world could see me. I would walk down every street, to assure that all would hear me. If I knew the meaning of life, it would be impossible to keep it to myself. I would run down every street and I would tell it to everyone that I meet. I would sing it in a song and I would write about it all day long and I would never stop until I knew humanity was free. If I knew the meaning of life, I would say it in a dance. I would not just share it with my friends. I would not just whisper it to my Mother. If I knew the meaning of life, you would now know it too.

But I do not. I only know what life means to me and I only can believe what I believe and I can only spread the truth that lives in my heart and I can only write about the thoughts in my head and I can only deliver the message that I have been given and I can only hope that it is enough for you to believe, that man was not meant to be hurtful, or cruel, or mean, that we were meant to live in peace. But I also believe in free will and I will never call my brother a heathen because he does not believe the same way. As long as we live side by side in kindness, and as long we understand that we are our brother’s keeper and as long as we comprehend, that only God can judge me, then our difference are fundamental, allowing all to live free.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Harrison’s parents knew, they had to take a stand. The choice was not if they believed in God, but rather if they believed that all the love He has for them, He must have for Harrison too. They did not understand gay, but they understood love. So they reached for their sons’ hands, helped him stand  and prepared to walk out of the only church either them had ever known.

Farid’s father was not surprised that a crowd had assembled, but he was shocked of how many appeared to be in support of his son. He was allowed to walk beside Farid until they arrived at the steps. Farid’s eyes were dead and he did not seem to notice when his father was forced to let go of his hand. There were men and women among the crowd, who jeered both him and his father, but as the crowd swelled, the voices of hate were drowned out by the soldiers of peace.

Condemnation and judgement continued from the stage, as Harrison and his family squeezed by the parishioners sitting in the same pew. When they approached the aisle, they stood still for a moment, hoping and praying that they were making the right choice. They held hands together in a family bond, not defiant, but feeling stronger nonetheless. Farid reached the top of the stairs and his empty eyes would fill with pride as he saw a world of beauty, for the first and last time. He would hear the songs of peace emitting from the crowd. He would see his father standing stoically amongst the people and his final thoughts would be of Harrison, as they placed the noose around his neck. Farid would think of him with a stronger love,  even though that love would cost him his life. When they stepped outside the church, Harrison would feel his heart burst and understood Farid was gone and all he could do to ease the pain, was to hold his parents close.

the end

Leave a Reply

